Book 2 in the Big Girl Series Coming Out Soon! Hump Day Hook

I just finished writing the next story in the Big Girl series and I can’t wait for it to be published this week! For those who haven’t started it yet – the first book Backstage Pass is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Here’s a bit of a teaser for the next book, Big Girl On Tour

***

Shannon stared across the doorway at Julian, a thousand thoughts running through her mind. It was him. It really was him. She didn’t know what to say.

Julian stepped forward, shyly offering her the rose. She took it, and his fingers brushed against hers. The single touch made her body flinch with a desire that she had been trying unsuccessfully to stifle for the past few days.

“I’m sorry I didn’t call,” Julian said.

“It’s…it’s okay. I understand. You’ve been busy with tour stuff.”

“That’s no excuse.”

“You’re in a famous band. That’s enough of an excuse, I guess.”

Julian winced, and Shannon thought she might have said the wrong thing. God, this wasn’t starting out how she wanted it to.

“I just mean you’ve got a lot on your plate.”

“It’s not that at all.” Julian’s voice was rough, as though he was stammering through the words, trying to figure out how to move his tongue to get the right letters out.

“What is it?” If it wasn’t his band, then Shannon didn’t know what it could be. A flame of anger began to rise up inside of her. If he hadn’t called just because…

“I was nervous. I thought maybe I messed up. With you.”

“Messed up?”

“I thought maybe you wanted to be able to tell people you were with, you know, a famous rock star. That it wasn’t really me you wanted. That I was just a good story to tell to your friends.”

Shannon’s mouth dropped open. That was what he was afraid of? A mixture of rage and relief swept through her.

“That’s… I don’t know what to say, Julian.”

“Just tell me what you’re thinking.”

“What I’m thinking?” Shannon threw one hand up in the air, gesturing wildly with the rose. “I’m thinking that it’s ridiculous you made up this whole motivation about why I wanted to be with you out of thin air. I’m thinking you shouldn’t have waited a whole week before asking me about it.”

“I’m sorry-”

Shannon stamped her bare foot on the floor. Now that he had made her talk, all of her anxieties were rushing out, and she didn’t want to stop. Ridiculous – this whole situation was ridiculous.

“I’m thinking that you are an idiot and jerk for keeping me in suspense this whole time.”

Julian’s eyebrows knitted together in the middle of his forehead. It was obvious no girl had ever spoken to him like this before. But Shannon couldn’t stop herself. He had to know what she had done to him.

“I’m thinking that you’re possibly the dumbest man I’ve ever met, because who on earth would meet you and not fall immediately in love with you? It doesn’t matter whether you were playing guitar on stage in a packed concert or on a cardboard box in an alleyway!”

Shannon didn’t notice Julian’s fierce look of desire, or the way that he was slowly inching over the doorstep towards her. Her eyes were welling with tears of anger mixed with joy.

“And I’m thinking that you owe me a lot more than just one rose if you’re going to come back and ask me to open my heart back up again!”

Julian stepped forward fully, closing the door behind him. Shannon gasped as his arm reached out around her, pulling her close to him. She could smell his cologne, and when he bent his head to her ear she could hear her own heart beating fast against his chest.

“What do I owe you?”

***

Check out other Hump Day Hooks here!  I know we’re only supposed to post a paragraph, but sometimes a girl gets carried away…

5 thoughts on “Book 2 in the Big Girl Series Coming Out Soon! Hump Day Hook

Leave a Reply

